Guidance
Contact:
Monica Cole Phone Icon 707-693-6340 Email Icon Email

Counselor's Corner

WELCOME! My goal as a counselor is to help students identify and accomplish their academic, career, and/or personal goals. Below, you will find many College & Career Resource Links. If you need assistance, or have any questions, please contact me at (707) 693-6340 or email me at monica.cole@dixonusd.org

Career Assessments & Research:

California Career Zone: http://www.cacareerzone.org/

California Career Resource Network: http://www.californiacareers.info/

Career Cruising: http://public.careercruising.com/us/en

Career One Stop: http://careerinfonet.com/

Career One Stop: http://www.careeronestop.org/

California Employment Development Department: http://www.edd.ca.gov/

Mapping Your Future: http://mappingyourfuture.org/

O*Net: www.onetonline.org

Bureau of Labor Statistics: www.bls.gov

Salary: www.salary.com

Who Do U Want 2B? http://www.whodouwant2b.com/student/pathways

Road Trip Nation: http://roadtripnation.org/

California Reality Check: http://www.californiarealitycheck.com/

Health Care Careers Now: http://www.healthcarecareersnow.com/

Occupation Database: http://www.vista-cards.com/occupations/

Career Bliss: http://www.careerbliss.com/

My Skills, My Future: http://www.myskillsmyfuture.org/

America’s Service Locator: http://www.servicelocator.org/

Eureka: http://www.eureka.org/

 

Financial Aid, Scholarships, etc.:

California Student Aid Commission: http://www.csac.ca.gov/

Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA): http://www.fafsa.ed.gov/

       Selective Service: http://www.sss.gov/default.htm

       (Please note: males 18+ years old must register with Selective Services in order to receive financial aid):     

Hispanic College Fund: http://www.hispanicfund.org/

Hispanic Scholarship Fund: http://www.hsf.net/

United Negro College Fund: http://www.uncf.org/

U.S. Department of Education: http://www.ed.gov/

Sallie Mae College Answers: http://www.collegeanswer.com/

Student Scholarships: http://www.scholarshipsandgrants.us/scholarships-highschool-seniors/

Scholarship Experts: http://www.scholarshipexperts.com/

 

Job Search Resources:

Job Star: http://www.jobstar.org/

Job Choices: http://jobchoicesonline.com/

Workforce Investment Board of Solano County: http://www.solanowib.org/

Job Hunt: http://www.job-hunt.org/

California Jobs: http://california.jobs/

California State Jobs: http://jobs.ca.gov/

Cal Jobs: http://www.caljobs.ca.gov/

Indeed: http://www.indeed.com/

Simply Hired: www.simplyhired.com

Job Hunters Bible: http://www.jobhuntersbible.com/

Career Builder: http://www.careerbuilder.com/

Employment Guide: http://www.employmentguide.com/

Job Access (for people with disabilities): http://www.jobaccess.org/

Monster: http://www.monster.com/

Occupational Outlook Handbook: http://www.bls.gov/ooh/home.htm

Riley Guide: http://www.rileyguide.com/

Job Journal: http://www.jobjournal.com/default.asp

Career Mag: http://www.careermag.com/

Help Wanted: http://www.helpwanted.com/

Snag a Job: http://www.snagajob.com/

 

Colleges:

American Association of Community Colleges: http://www.aacc.nche.edu/Pages/default.aspx

California Community Colleges: http://www.cccco.edu/

Degrees to Succeed: http://www.degreestosucceed.com/

Solano Community College: www.solano.edu

Woodland Community College: http://wcc.yccd.edu/

Sac City Community College: http://www.scc.losrios.edu/

Napa Valley College: http://www.napavalley.edu/Pages/default.aspx

California State University: http://www.calstate.edu/admission/

Sacramento State: www.csus.edu

University of California: http://www.universityofcalifornia.edu/

UC Davis: http://www.ucdavis.edu/

Postsecondary Education Commission: http://www.cpec.ca.gov/CollegeGuide/CollegeGuide.asp

Monster College: http://college.monster.com/?wt.mc_n=monstertrak

 

Trade Schools, Apprenticeship Programs, etc.

Carpenters Training Committee for Northern California: http://www.ctcnc.org/

Operating Engineers Local Union #3: http://www.oe3.org/%20

Vocational Schools Database: http://www.rwm.org/rwm/

CTE Workforce Development: http://www.solanocoe.net/apps/pages/index.jsp?uREC_ID=56353&type=d

California Association of Regional Occupational Centers and Programs: http://www.carocp.org/

California Department of Industrial Relations: http://www.dir.ca.gov/databases/das/aigstart.asp

CA Job Corps: http://www.jobcorps.gov/centers/ca.aspx

Sacramento Job Corps: http://sacramento.jobcorps.gov/home.aspx

 

Military:

Careers in the Military: http://www.careersinthemilitary.com/

Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery (ASVAB): http://www.asvabprogram.com/

Association of Military Colleges and Schools of the United States: http://www.amcsus.org/

Learn How to Become: http://www.learnhowtobecome.org/armed-forces-careers/

Today’s Military: http://www.todaysmilitary.com/

U.S. Department of Defense: http://www.defense.gov/